Showing posts with label motivation. Show all posts
Showing posts with label motivation. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Slacker, Boombacker

I need some motivation.  I have two weeks until the Color Run and I've not run a lick of anything.

Have you heard about it?  Seen the video?


Do you have goosebumps now too?

I'm so excited, but...

I hope I don't have a heart attack and pass out from my out of shape-ness (insert air quotes for sure on this one).

So for those of you that have done it in your respective cities, shower me with the it's easy, no worries, you can do its because I'm going to need it.

I'm just off the running thing and have been almost all summer.  I get out of breath just thinking about it.


I'm not a runner, but I try to pretend every once and a while.


A good run feels good and makes me feel a bit skinnier, but let's not kid ourselves.

I'd rather take a day of Body Pump than run anything really.

Anyway, just checking in cause I need a serious ass whoopin, so bring it on ladies.

I'm not scared.

Let's see what you're made of.

Love you. Wink, wink.






Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Reminders

After feeling like I was hitting a wall with who I was and "what" I was becoming as an adult, mother, wife and most importantly a career woman, I've really taken time to reflect on my emotions now that I have received my big promotion.

Sometimes you have to remind yourself that hard work and patience will pay off, but never forget to always BE true AND STAY true to yourself.

Happy Tuesday!




Images via Pinterest

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

The Time Has Come My Friends, Wanna Join?

So yeah, working out.  Outside of post-dinner dance parties with Mia and our walks around the subdivision, there is not a whole lot of that going on lately.

Howeeeeeeever, I've been inspired.

I spent most of my junior high, high school and college days playing volleyball.  All year round.  I was always active.  I ran, trained and played volleyball constantly.  Even after college, I coached for 2 years and still played in my own "old lady" leagues.  The last tournament I played in was on a evening league, after work.  I was loosing the competition that I loved so much about the sport.  I was showing up and playing against women with sweat bands on their forehead and wrists and knee pads and elbow pads.  I never was a fan of knee pads.  I always said real volleyball players don't need them if you know how to land/fall correctly.  I was starting to feel old.  All of us were.  When you go from the collegiate level to the adult level of competition, things change.  So I stopped.playing.for.good.

I kept working out and taking care of myself.  I had a lot of injuries in my career and didn't want to feel any results of those injuries, so I kept my muscles strong and active.

Work got busier, life got busier and then I got married.  We worked out together all the time, went on bike rides (however I am still not good on the bike, never was) and focused on taking care of us.  Then we decided to start trying for a baby.  It took us 8 months to get pregnant.  During that time, I still exercised and took yoga.  Throughout my entire pregnancy with the exception of the last 2 months or so I worked out several times a week and continued with yoga.  Then, we became parents in a new house, in a new town.  As soon as I got the green light from my doctor, I went back to the gym.  I started the C25K running program because let's be honest, most of my maternity leave was spent on the couch.  I had a goal.  I wanted to run the St. Patty's Day 5 mile in March.  I ran and I ran and I ran and then race day came.  The Hubs, my sister and I all ran it.  Mia "ran" in the jogging stroller with Daddy.  My sister and I stayed together and motivated each other.  I even cried when I crossed the finish line.  Not a scary, crinkle ugly face cry, but a happy "yay for me" cry!  It was awesome!  It was such an accomplishment.  I ran track & field in high school, but I was a sprinter and a jumper, not a long distance runner.

After that.  I officially fell off of the wagon.  The gym I belonged to was bad.  Too small and too crowded.  The one on my way home from work had old equipment.  I lost my drive.  I still do yoga occasionally at home thanks to Ms. Bethenny Frankel (love her) and do go on walks with Mia.  But that's it.  Better than nothing, but I could be doing more.

We all know how difficult it is to work out and have a family.  It is.  Say it with me.  We know and it's ok to admit it.

There's a certain someone in my blog universe that has had quite a remarkable year.  Katie is a motivation to many and was a motivation to me.  Therefore, I have made a commitment to myself and will be running the 5 mile St. Patty's Day Run for the 2nd time this March and thanks to Lindsay's suggestion I will be running with her and Gina, two other fine females in my blog universe.  Lindsay promised shenanigans afterwards and what girl doesn't like that for a little extra push. I mean it is a St. Patty's Day Run after all.

So thank you ladies!  I guess now I have an excuse to go get a new pair of running shoes because I'm quite sure the training will go much better if I have some pretty new ones!